Common Grace and Gracious Comfort

This evening I was driving home and, as usual, I had NPR on. But at this hour they were playing a concert with Dorvak. The simple elegance and beauty of the violin, cello, and bass played with such vigor and harmony compelled me to listen. I rolled down the window – such a beautiful night – and allowed the breeze to flitter in as I drove. I pulled into the driveway still hearing the simple concerto and was overwhelmed with the desire to hear more. So, I drove away needing to hear this music seemingly touched with the voice of the Almighty.

I drove back through town allowing the music to flow over and over me its presence engulfing my very being over and over the notes flew, the world disappeared, washed away by this common grace. This music overwhelmed me flowing into my soul, and through it, the very peace of God. 

The sky was growing ever dimmer as the sun set lazily over the horizon. The lights of cars passing by before only perfunctory now illumed the road as they drove. And suddenly, as if out of nothing, the grasses began to glow as the fireflies glistened in the night. Their light flickered along the highway giving light to the darkening ground. Then splat! and a brief glow and then darkness as one of them hit my windshield. My thoughts of peace and serenity were interrupted by the realization that we are in a fallen world so prone to death. Our lives, flicker in the night only for a moment as the darkness once again overwhelms our light. Our life is but a vapor, our time on earth is short – and it was God who made it so.

Squish! another firefly’s life cut short by the onrush of my automobile. The light from its body grew dim and the darkness prevailed once again, but though it was small and it shone only briefly I couldn’t help but notice it. It’s radiance so clearly seen against the darkness surrounding its light was not overwhelmed and was even made more perceptible by it. Our world is darkening, but it is in this darkness that the Light of Christ will shine brighter than ever as the radiance of Truth pierces the darkness bringing many to Himself.

Once again the sound akin to that of a raindrop rung out and a light glimmered and faded. In this moment my perception changed. I was looking not simply at the surroundings, but feeling as though I were the car conquering the little firefly. The headlamp’s lights dominating its area of influence and the car simply slaughtered everything that got in its way. How foreign the world’s system is from Christianity. It is not the greatest that shall be great, but the least. It is not he first that shall be first, but the last. We do not abide by the survival of the fittest, rather we are to humble ourselves and serve the least of these. This is the power of the Christian witness that shines into the dark systems of the world and though we be stronger, faster, smarter we do not trample over the weak, but pick them up and take them with us to the Celestial City where we shall all be made anew. 

“”You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” [Mat 5:14-16 ESV]

About Aaron

I'm a 23 year old student at Asbury University and have been blessed to enjoy God's glorious grace. I'm working on a degree in Bible/Theology at Asbury and will then move on to Asbury Seminary where I will complete my M.Div as part of my preparation for ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

