Gracious Joy

Ah the joys of having completed my classes for this semester. I am enjoying beyond measure my time at Asbury. My first semester here has given me the opportunity to meet some really awesome men of God that have focused my direction in life. I’m excited to see what God has in store.

By the Providence of God and His Providence alone, I’ve been made male class chaplain for my class at Asbury. I pray that God uses me for His eternal glory to the advancement of His kingdom. In the next few weeks and months I will be working with my pastor and my old counselor to build a support group for those who experience unwanted same-sex attractions. I’ve begun writing a church constitution that I will hone over the next few years while at Asbury University and Seminary.

The life of one who is a full-time student and full-time employee is chaotic at times, but it is by the power of God that I persevere and even thrive! But, this chaos, of necessity, has precluded my writing as often as I’d like. It is with joy that I sit now at my desk and compose this entry.

This time at Asbury has been, to me, the answer to long standing prayers to the Father. God has been so kind in His answer to my prayers – going beyond that which I had hoped for. In His providence He has provided me a system of support as I journey through my struggles with my sexuality, given me an opportunity to minister to those at Asbury, and blessed me with a pastor who supports my endeavors to further the Kingdom of Heaven. And in appointments and visits to come I foresee the abundance of God’s gracious provision multiplying beyond my imagining.

How can a wretched man like me be blessed with such abundance? I could give you reason after reason why I should never have even gotten this far. But it is not mine to answer back to God with my list of reasons; rather it is with thanksgiving that I receive the blessing of God. Grace upon grace is lavished on me and my only response is amazement, joy, thankfulness, and praise.

But this is how God works. He uses the foolish things of this world to confound the wise and the weak things to shame the strong, that no one might glory in His presence, but that they’d run to the Father with nothing, asking merely to be a slave, that He might show His glory in extravagant celebration as they’re received as sons and daughters of God. The God who is clothed with light has no need or want for your filthy rags. He desires humble submission. As we work for God, it is we who must work, but Grace within us. For we work because God is at work within us conforming us to the image of His son that He might be the firstborn of many brethren.

So I extol the greatness of my gracious provider that has blessed me with more than I could ask or think – this by His sovereign grace alone.

While there is so much more I could write, but I will save it for another day. May the Grace of God grow within you all and His joy envelop your hearts and souls to His glory.

About Aaron

I'm a 23 year old student at Asbury University and have been blessed to enjoy God's glorious grace. I'm working on a degree in Bible/Theology at Asbury and will then move on to Asbury Seminary where I will complete my M.Div as part of my preparation for ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

